© 2012 by NewEdge Hockey Development Academy

ARE YOU TRAINING WRONG?

You could be getting good information yet not developing! One of the biggest misconceptions in goalie development is that station/topic jumping is a good thing and good for development. Station jumping is when you see a goalie training session with 6-10 stations and goalies moving quickly from 1 station to another. Imagine if they used this approach in your child's school! 6 minutes on Math and then change the subject to History for 6 minutes and then change the subject to Science for 6 minutes and do this for 10 subjects in an hour!  We think you get the picture!  The ability to retain information in an environment like that is reduced dramatically.

GOALIE TRAINING
FOOTWORK / EDGEWORK / GOALIE SPECIFIC SKATING

Thursday 9/26/2019

Thursday 10/3/2019

Thursday 10/10/2019

Thursday 2/27/2020

Thursday 3/5/2020

Thursday 3/12/2020

BUTTERFLY / REBOUND CONTROL / RECOVERY

Thursday 10/17/2019

Thursday 10/24/2019

Thursday 10/31/2019

Thursday 11/7/2019

Thursday 3/19/2020

Thursday 3/26/2020

Thursday 4/2/2020

TIPS / SCREENS / DEFLECTIONS

Thursday 11/4/2019

Thursday 11/21/2019

Thursday 12/5/2019

Thursday 12/12/2019

Thursday 4/16/2020

Thursday 4/23/2020

Thursday 4/30/2020

POSTLOADS / WRAP-AROUNDS / WALKOUTS

Thursday 12/19/2019

Thursday  1/9/2020

Thursday  1/16/2020

Thursday  1/23/2020

 

STICK WORK / PUCK PLAY / PASSING

Thursday  1/30/2020

Thursday  2/6/2020

Thursday  2/13/2020

Thursday  2/20/2020

PER SESSION RATE             $55.00

RETAINER CUSTOMERS       $35.00

5 SESSION PACKAGE         $249.00

10 SESSION PACKAGE      $449.00 

This pod will focus on repetitive goalie specific skating drills which will improve a goaltenders quickness and ability to get square to the puck. Being square and prepared before the shot will allow a goaltender the beer chance in not only making the save, but controlling pucks into not threatening scoring areas of the ice. Heaving emphasis will be placed on balance and edge control 

These pods are designed to work on fundamentals for goaltenders incorporating skating and edgework into important movements in game situations. We will be focusing on becoming square to the puck, proper save technique and puck tracking for proper save selection and rebound control. 

Using proper skating techniques to become square and in proper positioning before the shot while reading surroundings and different scenarios will be our focus in this segment. The puck is always changing directions and a goaltenders view is sometimes obstructed preventing a full view of the release point. We will be competing for ice before the shot to ensure we have the best view of the puck while looking around screens. Other points of emphasis will include reactionary saves on tips and deflections. 

This pod is critical for goaltenders as we will be focusing on situations rarely covered in practice. We will be working on drills targeting post positioning both in front and behind the net. When to use the RVH vs the VH. Proper Post integration and post awareness based on the positioning of the puck will give the goaltender the best chance of making the first save but also being able to make a secondary save if necessary 

In today’s game, it is imperative that a goalie can be a “third defenseman” by being able to stop pucks behind the net, make proper passes, and have confidence while playing the puck. We have designed game specific drills to simulate situations goaltenders face constantly. Being aware of surroundings, protecting the puck, and passing are going to be points of emphasis for the School of goaltending throughout this pod 

SESSION DATES
SESSION DATES
SESSION DATES
SESSION DATES
SESSION DATES
SESSION RATES & PACKAGES
DAN KUNTZ & BRYAN HAUDE